Posted by: standing_baba | March 15, 2011

Win a Free Trip to Buenos Aires (in 4 Easy Steps)!

French artist JR's work in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

As this bike trip and all its interesting undertones slowly unfold (too slowly, according to some) I’ve come to believe in art as a legitimate means for change. Ok. What does that mean? It means that it can make people smile, give them purpose, make them see beauty in unlikely places. This works the same whether you live in a South African squat or are surrounded by suburbs in middle America. My stab in the dark at this ‘making people smile’ thing began with this bike blog, then branched into ‘making people wonder about my sanity’ when I started a poetry blog to develop my creativity and express the weirdness that typically goes unsaid. Recently I bought a point-and-click camera (and sold my behemoth SLR) to better capture life’s spontaneous little moments. And despite my failed last attempt to contribute to an art movement I’ve been investigating opportunities in which I could help others add to the collective artistic good of the world. One recent such discovery good could mean a free trip to Buenos Aires for you. Here’s how….

1. WATCH THE VIDEO

2. READ ABOUT THE INSIDE OUT PROJECT

INSIDE OUT is a large-scale participatory art project that transforms messages of personal identity into pieces of artistic work. Everyone is challenged to use black and white photographic portraits to discover, reveal and share the untold stories and images of people around the world. These digitally uploaded images will be made into posters and sent back to the project’s co-creators for them to exhibit in their own communities. People can participate as an individual or in a group; posters can be placed anywhere, from a solitary image in an office window to a wall of portraits on an abandoned building or a full stadium. These exhibitions will be documented, archived and viewable virtually.

3. UPLOAD A PORTRAIT OF YOURSELF

Upload here:

www.insideoutproject.net

4. SEND THE PORTRAIT TO BUENOS AIRES

When your portrait is approved have the Inside Out Project send it to the following address. You can make a small donation or send it for free:

Maria Florencia Aguilar
French 3531, piso 6, dpto A
Codigo Postal 1425
CABA, Argentina

JR's photo on steps in Rio de Janeiro favela

WHY SHOULD YOU DO THIS?

If you don’t want to, you shouldn’t. However, if you do participate I’ll bike around my final destination, Buenos Aires, to paste your portrait in a public place along with a stamp that says “Me, Bob, Surly & Your Name were here.” I’ll then take photos of your pasted portrait and post it back to this blog. If desired, your website and background story can accompany this future blog post.

This blog has been a source of reflection and purpose during this bike tour. It has connected me with friends and family and strangers despite my being so far away for so long. In short, it’s been an incredibly positive experience. The Inside Out Project video though made me realize I’ve never seen many of my reader’s faces.

Your portrait in Buenos Aires is a commeration of our journey together; it will put a face to your anonymous blog hit. It’s MB&S’s way of saying that we’re in this together and that your company is appreciated.

Isn’t that just like a methaphor for life? That JR guy is onto something.

For more information click the www.insideoutproject.net


Responses

  1. I love your idea! Hello from the Philippines! When are you going to Buenos Aires?

    • Hey Melody, I’ve been in Buenos Aires now for about two weeks. I’ve found a huge house in a great neighborhood with three cool Argentines (I plan to post a video tour of my home on the blog soon). Besides enjoying everything the city has to offer, I’m using my time to plan for what comes next. Of course, I’ll post that on my blog too. Take care!


Leave a Reply

Categories

