Posted by: standing_baba | March 3, 2010

Zen Philosophy with a Beard

“One’s destination is never a place but rather a new way of looking at things.”Henry Miller

“We don’t see things as they are, we see them as we are.”Anaïs Nin

“The reverse side also has a reverse side.” – Japanese Proverb

watching I watch myself what I see is my creation
as though entering through my eyes perception is conception
into an eye more crystal clear water of thoughts
what I watch watches me I am the creation of what I see

Octavio Paz, a translated excerpt from his poem Blanco


Responses

  1. I’ve been anticipating the pictures from Machu Picchu. It looks like you were unable to get there. Or, have I not seen the rest of the story?

    Great to see you’re growing the beard out. Looking grizzly.

    Talk later bro.

    • Never got around to writing this Machu Picchu post. The site was closed for a month due to the landslides and flooding in the area; a Colombian friend and I decided to go anyway. I reseached back-entry ways and even found out when and where the cops would be waiting for travelers like us determined to enter. After two buses and a taxi, a dangerous 150 foot cable car crossing over a swollen river, two hour hike through a valley with entire mountain sides cleared by fallen rocks (on the opposite side), and several hide-in-the-bushes moments we made it within a two hour hike of having the ruins to ourselves on a full-moon night, but were caught by the police when we made to the railroad tracks, the last patrolled area before the summit to the ancient city. It was 1:30am when they nabbed us and made us camp there on the spot before turning back in the morning. We later found out that they changed their patrol hours because other travelers were also sneaking by after midnight.


Leave a Reply

Categories

